A Food Guide to My Spring Reading Week

Hello friends. Hope all is swell with you.

Living at home in the past week has been lovely. I can’t describe the feeling I get tasting those familiar notes in my mom’s home cooking again. Of course eating out is great – your taste buds get to experience the world! But mom’s cooking is something entirely different – it’s comforting, it’s natural, it’s the taste of home.

DSC_0002edited

My mom’s signature 糖醋排骨 (sweet and sour ribs) welcomed me home, along with some of my favourites: 土豆丝 (sauteed matchstick potatoes), 炒青菜 (baby bokchoy), 红烧猪蹄 (braised pork hock).These are all simple dishes. But it’s the one extra teaspoon of light soy sauce, or the 5 minutes less of cooking time, or that extra zing from the chopped ginger, that makes these dishes taste like home.

DSC_0106 edited

Valentine’s Day

I had to set five alarm clocks to get myself to get up before my mom does. As a small Valentine’s Day gift, I prepared a surprise breakfast for my mom – hearty oatmeal with goji berries and and a poached egg hidden deeply into the porridge itself; topped with banana coins, frozen raspberries and some sunflower seeds for extra nutrition value!

*a recipe for this oatmeal, along with some other creative ways to eat oats, will be posted on the blog soon!

DSC_0150 edited

The good feels were reciprocated at dinner. Mom made a table full of noms – baby short ribs, shrimp, cauliflower, just to name a few. We also opened up a bottle of Merlot. Side note: drinking wine with my mom makes me feel like a real adult.

DSC_0162edited DSC_0165edited

On Sundays, we make fries. Just kidding. This was actually only my second time making these oven baked potato wedges and if I’m being honest, I think the first time was actually better. But that’s okay! I made some guacamole to compensate for the lack of crispiness of the fries. Yeah that blob of chewed-grass-look-alike, that’s the guacamole … Blame it on the oxygen okay. And the red mess next to it? That’s a ketchup-mayonnaise mixture (fail). But as long as it tastes good right?

DSC_0207edited  DSC_0206edited DSC_0202edited  DSC_0199

On Monday I had a sushi/dim sum date with my high school friends. We went to this restaurant that just opened last summer called Fusion and it really lives up to its name. It caters a wide array of foods, from the standard California rolls to Cantonese custard buns, General Tso chicken to steamed beef tripe, and so many more. Having had sushi so so so many times, we order a lot of dim sum dishes and they were heavenly! All their dim sums are apparently made on the spot in the kitchen, unlike most Asian restaurants (unless they specialize in dim sum) that just buy the packaged frozen ones from Asian supermarkets.

DSC_0246edited

And of course there’s always room for dessert. Their mango ice cream was topnotch – tasted super rich and creamy, different from that of a typical sushi joint, perhaps it’s house-made too.

DSC_0051

Tuesday was Chinese New Year’s Eve Eve, or as my mom likes to call it 小年夜. Usually we save the big family dinner on 大年夜 which is Chinese New Year’s Eve. So on Tuesday my mom and I had a pretty simple meal. But she made one of my favourite Asian desserts – coconut milk tapioca. I remember making this for our Food Fair back in grade 12 but obviously my mom’s version is much better. Sometimes she would add taro but this time she chopped up some sweet potato but a nicer color and it actually tasted so delish!

edited DSC_0009

Moving onto Wednesday (Lunar New Year’s Eve), we went over to my auntie’s house and had a huge 10+ course meal with the family. It’s like Christmas all over again, but a little bit better. I wrote a blog post about it, you can read it here if you are interested in learning more about Chinese New Year traditions and the 2015 Year of the Sheep! 🙂

(https://michelleneous.wordpress.com/2015/02/19/year-of-the-sheep/)

DSC_0035

After overindulging in 3 plates of duck, salmon, and ribs (and some veg too of course), I needed a quick detox. So on Thursday, I made myself a smoothie bowl. Banana, apple, raspberries, yogurt, blend ’em up. Easy peasy!

DSC_0081edited

I didn’t do any ‘reading’ until the third last day of Reading Week. On Friday night, it was finally time to get my act together! Mom made a stew – with bokchoy, nagaimo (“long potato”), beef and fish balls, shrimp, oyster mushroom, and fish tofu. Yum!It was so good it made studying a bit less painful 🙂

DSC_0086  DSC_0084

Saturday. It’s my last day at home! I don’t wanna leave 😦

I am writing this post as I gobble down this paratha (Indian flat bread) with an  egg (hidden inside), topped with some avocado. I couldn’t wait to eat this beaut so food presentation really wasn’t a priority here.

DSC_0089  DSC_0094

Annnnnd my last meal at home. It was an all vegetarian meal with layers of flavor! (Yes you can eat eggs if you’re vegetarian. Only lacto-vegetarians do not eat eggs.) Needless to say, it was scrumptious as usual and it makes me want to go back to my tiny apartment even less. But you got to do what you got to do. Toronto and school work, here I come!

x.

Leave a Reply

