Year of the Sheep

Baaaaaa! Happy Chinese New Year! Or as some like to call it, Lunar New Year!

According to Chinese Zodiacs, 2015 is the Year of the Sheep 羊 (or Goat). Each year is associated with a zodiac animal and the cycle repeats every 12 years as there are 12 animals. The last Year of the Sheep was when I was in grade 2… wow how time flies eh?

I did some digging on the mighty interweb and found that people born in the Year of the Sheep tend to be polite, filial, clever, and kindhearted. They also have a “special fondness for quiet living”. Do you know someone in your life that’s like this? I sure can think of someone close to me that matches these descriptions! It also says that these people’s lucky colors are brown, red, and purple; and their lucky flowers include carnations and primroses. If you know someone born in the Year of the Sheep, consider getting them some beautiful flowers in the new year. 🙂

The actual date on which Chinese New Year takes place varies from year to year, so I was super excited that this year’s (February 19th) matched up with my spring Reading Week so I could come home and celebrate it with my mom. We went over to my auntie’s place on the 18th, which is essentially the Chinese New Year’s Eve, and had a delicious family dinner.

DSC_0012 edited DSC_0009 edited DSC_0011 edited DSC_0015

Yeeeeah, as you can see, it was a feast. 10+ course meals FTW amirite.

Chinese New Year is great, it’s like we get a second Christmas! We get to be with family, eat great food, and sometimes we even get gifts! As many people may know, a Chinese New Year tradition is for seniors and elders to give the younger people in the family red envelops, aka. 红包. It usually carries money and the red color signifies good luck, good fortune, and good health. And to be honest, the amount of money doesn’t actually matter, it’s the thought that counts! 🙂 My family (aka. my mom and I) used to do it a lot back when we lived in the China, where we always celebrated the holiday with our entire extended family. But since we moved to Canada, it’s only mine and my auntie’s family that are here so this tradition kind of faded away. To my surprise though, my mom actually gave me one this year! I must say ’twas great waking up to a red envelop this morning !

DSC_0074

As my grandparents would say 恭喜发财 万事如意, which can be translated to “May prosperity be with you and best luck with everything”! It’s a traditional Chinese saying used most often during this time of the year, wishing everyone good luck and prosperity in the upcoming year. So on this New Year’s day (大年初一), I’d like to wish all of you, everyone, a good 2015 and may your year be filled with good health and happiness! 🙂

Happy Chinese New Year! 祝大家在羊年喜气洋洋 得意洋洋!*throws confetti*

x.

One thought on “Year of the Sheep

Leave a Reply

